A Book Can Change Your Life…

Kindergarten = my comfort zone.  5th grade = NOT my comfort zone.  I admit I was a bit nervous about my upcoming reading lessons in 5th grade. The cause of my nervousness was NOT that many of these students tower over my 4’11’’ stature OR the fact that I have never taught 5th grade (remember the world of Kindergarten is my comfort zone) but the cause was a question that had been looming over me for a few days, “could I make a difference in their reading lives and get them to offer up some love to reading during my short time with them?” Book Whisperer spirit channeled and books in hand, I entered the classroom and sat down with these children. As I shared the books I am currently reading, I picked up a book I have recently come to treasure and said, “You know guys, books have the power to change your life. In fact, this book in my hand changed mine.” A few seconds later a hand went up . M, with a look of confusion mixed with curiosity, asked,  “Mrs. Davies, you said that book changed your life?  Well, how?”  I shared the storyline with the kids and explained that the book, which I literally found on my way to check out at the bookstore a few days before Christmas, profoundly affected me as a teacher. The story prompted me to want to raise awareness for children who suffer from hunger and for children who age out of the foster care system. When I bought the book I thought it might be a story similar to Wild by Cheryl Strayed and I gravitate toward stories about life journeys and finding yourself but it turned out to be so much more.

M’s response to my answer was “Ohhhh……”.

The book, by the way, is A Walk to Beautiful by Jimmy Wayne.  I am growing and learning right along with these students and I hope that my love of reading might rub off on them during our little journey together.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *